Our COVID-19 Updates

A Bold Step Towards Our 2017-18 Season

We’re excited to announce our partnership with The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and three other orchestras on a commission work. The work will be written by celebrated American composer, John Luther Adams. It will be performed for the first time in California by the Redlands Symphony during our 2017-18 concert season. (We’ll announce the performance date as soon as it’s been set. Please stay tuned.) 

In making the announcement, Ransom Wilson, the symphony’s Music Director and Conductor noted: 

This is a truly historic moment…the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and one of the world’s greatest living composers have decided that they want to collaborate with the Redlands Symphony! I am honored and thrilled beyond words, I can’t wait to share the magical music we will create with all of Redlands!

“This commission is an exciting opportunity for our orchestra, our community, and the region,” said Jerry Bean, Chair of the Redlands Symphony board of directors. “It’s a first for us and we feel like we’re in some of the best company the world of classical music offers and we’re very honored to be a member of this group.”

The other orchestras participating in the commission project include Camerata Pacifica from Santa Barbara, California; Chamber Music Northwest from Portland, Oregon; and Emerald City Music from Seattle, Washington. 

The working title for the new piece is “there is no one, not even the wind.” The piece is being written for flutes, percussion, piano, violin, viola, cello, and bass.

About Composer John Luther Adams

Composer John Luther Adams’ life and musical work are deeply rooted in the natural world. The New Yorker has described Adams as, “One of the most original musical thinkers of the new century.” After living in Alaska for much of his life, Adams now makes his home in the Sonoran Desert. From his home, the composer had this to stay about the piece he is currently working on for the Redlands Symphony and the other commissioners:

There is no one, not even the wind comes directly from my experience of the space and solitude, the stillness and light of the desert.

Like all my recent music, this piece embraces layered time and physical space as central elements. The instruments are widely dispersed, and there are six simultaneous tempos.

The title is a variation of the great Mexican poet Octavio Paz. His poem piedra nativa (native stones) contains this line: No hay nadie ni siquiera tu mismo (which translates: “There is no one, not even yourself”).

I take this one step farther and remove not only myself, but even that very last person – the wind.

Adams was awarded the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Music for his symphonic work "Become Ocean," and a 2015 Grammy Award for “Best Contemporary Classical Composition.”

Columbia University honored Adams with the William Schuman Award, “to recognize the lifetime achievement of an American composer whose works have been widely performed and generally acknowledged to be of lasting significance.”

Adams received the Heinz Award for his contributions to raising environmental awareness. He has also been honored with the Nemmers Prize from Northwestern University, “for melding the physical and musical worlds into a unique artistic vision that transcends stylistic boundaries.”

Born in 1953, Adams grew up in the South and in the suburbs of New York City. He studied composition with James Tenney at the California Institute of the Arts.

Adams has taught at Harvard University, the Oberlin Conservatory, Bennington College, and the University of Alaska. He has also served as composer in residence with the Anchorage Symphony, Anchorage Opera, Fairbanks Symphony, Arctic Chamber Orchestra, and the Alaska Public Radio Network.

Thank You For Helping Make this Partnership Possible

We are grateful to YOU, OUR PARTNERS, whose support enables us to pursue extraordinary opportunities like this one for Redlands Symphony and our community…and for the world of music!

Published by:

Search Redlands Symphony

Find Concerts, Events, Artists, Reviews, and More.