Please View Our Latest COVID-19 Updates

Thank You for Making This Concert a Success

We have more great performances coming soon. See what's playing next.

Our Next Concert

A Big Band Christmas Jam

12/11/21 at 08:00pm

Redlands Symphony's Next Concert

Why You'll Love This Concert

We end our season with a concert that has everything: majestic fanfares, catchy dances— even jazz-inspired saxophone!

Composed during World War II, Aaron Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man is one of the noblest musical statements ever composed. From those famous first three trumpet notes, this piece is sure to stir your soul. Responding to Copland’s masterpiece, composer Joan Tower added her own twist with Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman, dedicated to women who are “risk-takers and adventurers.”

With square dances, a cakewalk, waltzes, and a hoe-down, you’ll find yourself tapping your toes along with the dancing cowboys and party guests from two great American ballets: William Grant Still’s Miss Sally’s Party and Aaron Copland’s Rodeo.

Our joyous evening continues with the energetic riffs of John Adams’ Saxophone Concerto. Inspired by the artistry of John Coltrane, Stan Getz, Charlie Parker, Cannonball Adderly, Gil Evans, and other jazz greats, this piece will push soloist Patrick Posey’s virtuosity to the limit!

See What's On The Concert Program

Program Preview


3 trumpets, 4 horns, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, percussion


Composed 1987. First performance: 10 January 1987. Houston Symphony. Hans Vonk, conductor.

Read More

2 flutes, oboe, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 3 horns, trumpet, trombone, percussion, piano, strings


Coming soon...

Read More

solo alto saxophone, piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 3 horns, 2 trumpets, harp, piano, celesta, strings


First performance: 22 August 2013. Sydney, Australia. Timothy McAllister, saxophone. Sydney Symphony Orchestra. John Adams, conductor.

Read More

piccolo, 3 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 2 clarinets, bass clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, percussion, harp, celesta, piano, strings


Composed 1942. First performance: 16 October 1942, Metropolitan Opera House, New York.

Read More

4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, 2 percussion


Ubiquitous at all sorts of public occasions, solemn and celebratory, Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man was originally commissioned in 1942 by conductor Eugene Goosens as a piece honoring the sacrifices of Americans during World War II.

Read More

Additional Information

The performance of Dicken's 'A Christmas Carol' was just amazing. The cast, chorus, and orchestra moved me to tears.

Thank you for this marvelous production, which might just have been the best event from the Redlands Symphony in the 13 years I have been a season subscriber.

Directions to Redlands

Redlands is conveniently located less than 30 minutes from Riverside, Loma Linda, Yucaipa, Highland, and Beaumont. From Hemet, it’s just a short jaunt north on CA-79 and West on I-10. It is easily accessible from Los Angeles 60 miles east along Hwy 10. And from San Diego, it’s a beautiful, 2-hour drive north along I-15 and I-215.

Getting ready to attend our concert? View our directions page.

Directions to Memorial Chapel at University of Redlands

All regular season concerts are held at Memorial Chapel on the University of Redlands campus.

Click here to get directions to the chapel.

Sponsored By:

Charlotte Reid Gaylord Burgess and Larry Burgess and the Will J. Reid Foundation

Concert Info

Performed by: Redlands Symphony Concert is Canceled

Performed at: Memorial Chapel 1200 E. Colton Ave.Redlands, CA 92373 Get Directions


Search Redlands Symphony

Find Concerts, Events, Artists, Reviews, and More.